Alex L. Lorenz, Board Treasurer

Alex grew up and lived in Cordoba, Argentina until he moved to the US in 2004 to start his accounting career. He holds degrees in Accounting and Business Administration and worked for Deloitte and Touche as a Certified Public Accountant. His years of experience as a financial auditor of multinational companies give him the competence, knowledge, and experience needed to provide professional, high-quality accounting and consulting services.

Jessie Garcia Knowles, Board Chair

Jessie is the executive director of the Tennessee Latin American Chamber of Commerce. She previously served as an assistant dean of students at Lipscomb University and as director of Latino Achievers with the YMCA of Middle Tennessee. Garcia Knowles has served on boards and committees of several civic institutions, including TLACC, the Nashville Public Library and Metro Nashville Public Schools. She is fully bilingual, and enjoys building community engagement around effective storytelling and authentic relationships.

Karla Vázquez Moreno, Board Secretary

Karla is a native Spanish speaker from Mexico City. As the Donor Organizing Officer for the Youth Engagement Fund she implements strategy and infrastructure for resource building and organizational sustainability. Karla served as the Senior Manager of Institutional Giving for the United We Dream Network, where she managed the grants portfolio of more than 60 funder relationships, confirming over $30M for the immigrant rights movement. She has worked in a consulting capacity for grant writing, management, & institutional stewardship.

Lindsey Harris, Board Vice-Chair

Lindsey is a Nashville native with degrees in Spanish Teaching and Nonprofit Leadership. She led the Tennessee Immigrant and Refugee Rights Coalition (TIRRC) as Project Manager helping to build the fundraising and development program. Later, as Operations Director, she strengthened TIRRC’s organizational capacity and developed strategies for long-term sustainability. In 2014, she was named TIRRC’s Co-Executive Director, a title she held for six years, before leaving TIRRC in 2020 to start her own nonprofit consulting practice. 


Stuart Burkhalter, Board Member

Stuart practices complex commercial litigation. He has experience in both state and federal court, as well as private arbitration, on matters including commercial contract disputes, employment and non-compete issues, residential and commercial real estate disputes, parent-company liability matters, and intellectual property litigation. He frequently represents providers in managed care disputes and other litigation. The Tennessee Bar Association awarded him the 2018 Justice Joseph W. Henry Award for Outstanding Legal Writing.

Todd Dickson, Board Member

Todd is founder and chief executive officer of Valor Collegiate Academies. Since its inception, Valor has been the top performing academic charter network in Tennessee. Valor has also developed a nationally recognized comprehensive human development approach, Compass, which is a key driver of the organization’s success. Before starting Valor, Todd spent 12 years at Summit Public Schools in the Bay Area of California. Under his leadership, Summit was named one of the “Top 10 Transformational Schools” in the country by Newsweek.

Veronica Uribe, Board Member
Veronica Uribe was born and raised in Mexico City and received a full tennis scholarship to study a Bachelor’s in Finance at Tennessee Technological University. Veronica completed her undergraduate degree and began studying her MBA as her Finance career took off.  Her work experience has given her a broad knowledge of finance, accounts receivable, corporate business, consulting, banking, outreach, marketing, language and interpreting, as well as teaching. She is currently the Relationship Manager at Bank of America and has been active in the Nashville community throughout the years in volunteer and community outreach roles.



The Aventura Board of Directors holds monthly meetings on the third Wednesday of the month. Meetings are help on Zoom. Scheduled 2021-2022 meeting dates:

December 15, 8pm

If you wish to attend a meeting please contact to confirm the meeting time, location, and agenda.

Past Meeting Minutes


November 17, 2021

October 20, 2021

September 18, 2021

June 10, 2021